PPA Perennial of the Year

Each year the Perennial Plant Association (PPA) designates one perennial as the “Perennial Plant of the Year”. Selection is based on multiple seasons of interest, suitability for a wide range of climates, low maintenance, pest & disease resistance and ease of propagation. Therefore, if you want to create an attractive, long blooming garden of reliable perennials this list is an excellent starting point. With very few exceptions these are outstanding garden plants.

Stachys 'Hummelo'


Stachys ‘Hummelo’ selected for 2019

In 2019 the Perennial Plant of the Year is Stachys ‘Hummelo’. This exceptional plant was honored in 2011 by being selected as the Wisconsin Perennial of the Year through the Wisconsin Green Industry Federation and has now moved on to national recognition.

Stachys 'Hummelo'

Many Assets

Its assets are many. Firstly, it has a clean, clump forming habit composed of slightly crinkled green basal foliage that forms a compact mound. In addition,  it produces abundant vertical spikes of bright purple-pink flowers on 15”-24” stems for many weeks in summer, beginning in late June and continuing through most of the summer if deadheaded.  Moreover, it is a favorite of pollinators and was the highest rated Stachys in the Chicago Botanic Garden Evaluation Trials for its consistently heavy flower production, healthy foliage and uniform habit.

Build a Great Garden with Proven Plants

Previous Perennial Plant of the Year selections:
2018 Ornamental Onion (Allium ‘Millenium’)
2017 Butterfly Weed (Asclepias tuberosa)
2016 Japanese Anemone (Anemone ‘Honorine Jobert’)
2015 Geranium x cantabrigiense ‘Biokova’
2014 Panicum ‘Northwind’
2013 Variegated Solomon’s Seal (Polygonatum odoratum ‘Variegata’)
2012 Brunnera ‘Jack Frost’
2011 Threadleaf Bluestar (Amsonia hubrechtii )
2010 False Indigo (Baptisia australis)
2009 Golden Japanese Forest Grass (Hakonechloa macra ‘Aureola’)
2008 Geranium ‘Rozanne’
2007 Nepeta ‘Walker’s Low’
2006 Dianthus ‘Firewitch’
2005 Lenten Rose (Helleborus x hybridus)
2004 Japanese Painted Fern (Athyrium nipponicum ‘Pictum’)
2003 Becky Shasta Daisy (Leucanthemum ‘Becky’)
2002 Phlox ‘David’ (“David Summer Phlox”)
2001 Calamagrostis ‘Karl Foerster’*
2000 Scabiosa ‘Butterfly Blue’
1999 Black Eyed Susan (Rudbeckia ‘Goldsturm’)
1998 Magnus Purple Coneflower (Echinacea ‘Magnus’)
1997 Salvia ‘May Night’
1996 Penstemon ‘Husker Red’
1995 Russian Sage (Perovskia atriplicifolia)
1994 Astilbe ‘Sprite’
1993 Veronica ‘Sunny Border Blue’
1992 Coreopsis ‘Moonbeam’
1991 Heuchera ‘Palace Purple’
1990 Phlox stolonifera